ROCHESTER BOARD OF EDUCATION

Organizational Meeting Minutes January 2, 2014

Attendance: Commissioners Adams, Campos, Cruz, Elliott, Evans, Powell, and White; Board Clerk Shanai Lee.

Board Clerk Shanai Lee called the meeting to order at 6:15 p.m. and asked Commissioner Elliott to lead the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag. Ms. Lee explained the agenda for the meeting including the consideration of resolutions specifying employees charged with performing certain functions and other resolutions to designate the official newspaper and certain financial arrangement. She also explained the process for electing officers for the office of President and Vice President.

Commissioner José Cruz, Commissioner Cynthia Elliott, and Commissioner Van Henri White were sworn into office to serve as Commissioners of the Rochester Board of Education from January 1, 2014 through December 31, 2017.

The Chair opened the floor for nominations for the office of President. Commissioner Adams nominated Commissioner White for the office of President. Commissioner White accepted the nomination.

Motion to close nominations made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Cruz. Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Campos absent.

Motion to open discussion made by Commissioner Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Campos absent.

Commissioner Adams commented on the leadership that Commissioner White has brought to the Board during his tenure and his dedication to the District's families and students.

Motion to close discussion and vote made by Commissioner Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner Campos. **Adopted 6-0 with Commissioner Campos absent.**

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner White for the office of President: Commissioner Adams Yes

Commissioner Campos Not Present

Commissioner Cruz Yes

Commissioner Evans Yes

Commissioner Powell Yes

Commissioner White Yes

Commissioner White elected to the office of President with a vote of 6-0 with Commissioner Campos absent.

Commissioner Campos arrived at 6:25 p.m.

The Chair opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Cruz nominated Commissioner Elliott for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Elliott accepted.

Commissioner Cruz commented on Commissioner Elliott's passion for the children of the community. Commissioner Evans commented on the consistency and authenticity that Commissioner Elliott has brought to the Board.

Commissioner Adams commented on the passion that Commissioner Elliott conveys, but stated that she could not support Commissioner Elliott for a leadership position because she advocated for the elimination of the democratically elected school board.

President White nominated Commissioner Powell for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Powell accepted the nomination.

President White commented on Commissioner Powell stewardship in chairing the Board's Finance Committee and support for other initiatives of the Board.

Motion to close nominations made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Campos. **Adopted** 7-0.

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner Elliott for the office of Vice President:

Commissioner Adams No

Commissioner Campos Yes

Commissioner Cruz Yes

Commissioner Evans Yes

Commissioner Powell No

Commissioner White No

Commissioner Elliott elected to the office of Vice President with a vote of 4-3

Roll Call Vote for Commissioner Powell for the office of Vice President:

Commissioner Adams Yes

Commissioner Campos No

Commissioner Cruz No

Commissioner Evans No

Commissioner Powell Yes

Commissioner White Yes

Commissioner Powell not elected to the office of Vice President with a vote of 3-4

Commissioner Elliott elected to the office of Vice President with a vote of 4-3.

The President and Vice President were sworn into office. President White assumed charge of the meeting.

President Evans asked for a motion to adopt Resolution No. 2013-14: 397-408.

Resolution No. 2013-14: 397-401 Motion to adopt made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Cruz. **Adopted 7-0.**

Resolution No. 2013-14: 402 Motion to adopt made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Cruz. **Adopted 6-1 with Commissioner Elliott dissenting.**

Resolution No. 2013-14: 403-405 Motion to adopt made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Cruz. **Adopted 7-0.**

Resolution No. 2013-14: 406 Motion to adopt made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Cruz. **Adopted 6-1 with Commissioner Elliott dissenting.**

Resolution No. 2013-14: 407-408 Motion to adopt made by Commissioner Evans. Seconded by Commissioner Cruz. **Adopted 7-0.**

President White presented the committee assignments listed below:

Board Governance and Development Committee

Members of the Committee include Commissioner Campos, Commissioner Cruz and Commissioner Powell.

Community and Intergovernmental Relations Committee

Members of the Committee include Commissioner Adams, Commissioner Campos and Vice President Elliott.

Finance and Resource Allocation Committee

Members of the Committee include Commissioner Cruz, Commissioner Evans, and Commissioner Powell.

Policy Development and Review Committee

Members of the Committee include Commissioner Campos, Commissioner Cruz and Commissioner Powell.

Excellence in Student Achievement Committee

Members of the Committee include Commissioner Elliott, Commissioner Evans and Commissioner Adams.

Audit Committee

Members of the Committee include Commissioner Adams, Commissioner Elliott and Commissioner White.

President White requested a motion to accept the 2014 committee assignments. Motion to accept the committee assignments as presented made by Vice President Elliott, seconded by Commissioner Cruz. Assignments accepted 7-0.

Motion to adjourn by Commissioner Cruz. Seconded by Commissioner Campos. Adopted 7-0 at 7:05 p.m.