ROCHESTER BOARD OF EDUCATION Organizational Meeting Minutes January 4, 2010

Attendance: Commissioners Campos, Cruz, Elliott, Evans, Powell, White, and Williams; Board Clerk Shanai Lee.

Board Clerk Shanai Lee called the meeting to order at 6:08 p.m. and led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag. Ms Lee explained the process for swearing in newly elected commissioners and electing officers for the office of President and Vice President.

Commissioner Powell arrived at 6:09 p.m.

Commissioner Cruz was sworn in by Councilwoman Carla Palumbo.

Commissioner Elliott was sworn in by Ms. Gaynelle Wethers.

Commissioner White was sworn in by Mr. Brandon Evan White.

Commissioner Campos nominated Commissioner Evans for the office of President. Commissioner Evans accepted.

Roll Call Vote:

| Commissioner Campos | Yes |
|-----------------------|-----|
| Commissioner Cruz | Yes |
| Commissioner Elliott | No |
| Commissioner Evans | Yes |
| Commissioner Powell | Yes |
| Commissioner White | Yes |
| Commissioner Williams | No |

Commissioner Elliott nominated Commissioner Williams for the office of President. Commissioner Williams accepted.

Roll Call Vote:

| Commissioner Campos | No |
|-----------------------|-----|
| Commissioner Cruz | No |
| Commissioner Elliott | Yes |
| Commissioner Evans | No |
| Commissioner Powell | No |
| Commissioner White | No |
| Commissioner Williams | Yes |

Commissioner Evans elected 5-2 with Commissioners Elliott and Williams dissenting.

Motion to close nominations by Commissioner Williams. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. Adopted 7-0.

The Chair opened the floor for nominations for the office of Vice President.

Commissioner White nominated Commissioner Campos for the office of Vice President. Commissioner Campos accepted.

Roll Call Vote:

| Commissioner Campos | Yes |
|-----------------------|-----|
| Commissioner Cruz | Yes |
| Commissioner Elliott | No |
| Commissioner Evans | Yes |
| Commissioner Powell | Yes |
| Commissioner White | Yes |
| Commissioner Williams | No |

Commissioner Campos elected 5-2 with Commissioners Elliott and Williams dissenting.

Motion to close nominations by Commissioner Powell. Seconded by Commissioner White. **Adopted 7-0.**

The President and Vice President were sworn into office. President Evans assumed charge of the meeting.

President Evans asked for a motion to adopt **Resolution Nos. 2009-10: 498-509**.

Resolution No. 2009-10: 498: Motion to amend Resolution No. 2009-10: 498 made by Commissioner Williams. Seconded by Commissioner Elliott. Rejected 2-5 with President Evans, Vice President Campos, Commissioner Cruz, Commissioner Powell, and Commissioner White dissenting. Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2009-10: 498 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 5-2** with Commissioner Elliott and Commissioner Williams dissenting.

Resolution No. 2009-10: 499: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2009-10: 499 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 7-0**.

Resolution No. 2009-10: 500: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2009-10: 500 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 5-2** with Commissioner Elliott and Commissioner Williams dissenting.

Resolution No. 2009-10: 501: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2009-10: 501 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 7-0**.

Resolution No. 2009-10: 502: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2009-10: 502 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 6-1** with Commissioner Williams dissenting.

Resolution No. 2009-10: 503: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2009-10: 503 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 7-0**.

Resolution No. 2009-10: 504: Motion to amend Resolution No. 2009-10: 504 made by Commissioner Williams. Seconded by Commissioner Elliott. Rejected 2-5 with President Evans, Vice President Campos, Commissioner Cruz, Commissioner Powell, and Commissioner White dissenting. Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2009-10: 504 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 5-2** with Commissioner Elliott and Commissioner Williams dissenting.

Resolution No. 2009-10: 505: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2009-10: 505 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 6-1** with Commissioner Williams dissenting.

Resolution No. 2009-10: 506: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2009-10: 506 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 5-2** with Commissioner Elliott and Commissioner Williams dissenting.

Resolution No. 2009-10: 507: Motion to adopt Resolution No. 2009-10: 507 made by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. **Adopted 7-0**.

President Evans announced that the next meeting of the Board is scheduled for Thursday, January 7, 2010 at 6:00 p.m.

Motion to adjourn by Commissioner White. Seconded by Commissioner Powell. Adopted 7-0 at 7:45 p.m.